Hawks & Kites [Reblog]

Over on Stephanelli’s Musical Adventures, my musical blog, I posted some recordings of two folk tunes inspired by birds of prey. I love how nature can inspire so many things from paintings to sculptures, poetry to daydreams and photos to music. I thought I’d share it here for those who are interested.

Stephanelli's Musical Adventures

It feels like a long time since I’ve shared some new music – in reality only a couple of months.  I guess that’s still a long time, but I only missed the one planned post so that’s okay.

Today I’d like to share a couple of pieces I’ve recorded, one of them is my newest composition, the other is a folk tune by Michael Raven that I found in a tune book I received for a Christmas present.  I’ve no idea if my interpretation is true to the composers ideas, but I was completely captivated by it.  They are both heavily inspired by nature.

Sparrowhawk
by Michael Raven

Sparrowhawks are birds of prey: fast, nimble and beautiful.  They are small and have adapted their hunting skills specifically for confined spaces like dense woodlands.  If you’re very lucky, you might also find them in your garden.  They are resident to the…

View original post 397 more words

This entry was published on February 8, 2017 at 5:49 pm. It’s filed under Inspired By Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

