30 Days Wild – Day 23

Today I’ve gone for another quiet day.  I’m getting very fed up with this cold or hayfever or whatever it is!  I managed to get very tired walking to the polling station to vote so decided that I would have a quiet wild day.  Before I tell you about my quiet day, I thought I’d share a lovely poem that really moves me.  I don’t think I’ve shared it yet, but apologies if I have!  Colin also has a fun adventure to share with you too!

The Way Through The Woods – By Rudyard Kipling

They shut the road through the woods
Seventy years ago.
Weather and rain have undone it again,
And now you would never know
There was once a road through the woods
Before they planted the trees.
It is underneath the coppice and heath
And the thin anemones.
Only the keep sees
That, where the ring-dove broods,
And the badgers roll at ease,
There was once a road through the woods.

Yet, if you enter the woods
Of a summer evening late,
When the night-air cools on the trout-ringed pools
Where the otter whistles his mate,
(They fear not men in the woods,
Because they see so few.)
You will hear the beat of a horse’s feet,
And the swish of a skirt in the dew,
Steadily cantering through
The misty solitudes,
As though they perfectly knew
The old lost road through the woods…
But there is no road through the woods.

I’m a huge fan of Rudyard Kipling and this has to be one of my favourites.  It reminds of those places where man has had his way, built and built, and then, gradually abandoned what he built and let nature return.  It reminds of the old railway platform that you can find hidden near the bottom of the village, and of long forgotten quarries and secret houses in the forest, long abandoned.  Kipling was born in India in 1865, but was educated in England from a young age.  He is of course most famous for The Jungle Books – a wonderful collection of short stories well worth the read, obviously one of the stories was made famous by Walt Disney, but there are several others and they are all worth the read!

Stephanelli’s Adventure

Today was a quiet day for me.  I had a slow morning, I went to vote and got rather tired and rested for a bit with my crochet.  I went and pulled up some weeds (I have bindweed growing in my vegetable patch…bindweed is great, just not in my veg patch…same with all the other weeds, they get left elsewhere around the garden…but veg patch is for veggies…weeds can have the rest of the garden!).  Then I sat and watched for some garden birds.  I’m surprised I haven’t told you about my garden birds sooner actually!  I listened to the bird song back on Day 9 but didn’t actually focus on our regular visitors!

I didn’t get photos of many of them today, but our usual visitors include sparrows, blue tits, great tits, robins, blackbirds, wrens, pigeons, collared doves and an evening chorus from a song thrush.  Our less frequent visitors include green and greater spotted woodpeckers.  Today we finally had success from our nyger seed feeders – the goldfinches turned up!  I love these sweet little birds and have been trying to attract them to our garden for a while now!

In success of finally having goldfinches in the garden, I wrote todays haiku about them!

Today’s Haiku:
Flash of gold bands

Red face circled with white
Flits out of sight

Colin’s Adventure
Not sure whether you can count this as a proper wild adventure, but it was cute and fun nevertheless!

Hello!!!  Mummy’s letting me blog again!  I had so much fun today that I just have to tell you about!  Mummy thought I’d like to experience what tree climbing is like.  I can’t go outside and climb a real tree, so Mummy pretended to be a tree for me!  First of all, she told me to imagine I was badger, living in a sett at the bottom of a tree.  Here’s what I’d look like if I were a badger looking to see if its safe to come out:

DSC02603_800x600

Then I was a bird!  Balancing in the branches of the tree – I don’t know how the birds manage all day!

DSC02604_800x600

Then I was a squirrel running fast along as many branches as I could – so fast I’ve turned into a blur of a mouse!

DSC02606_800x600

Then Mummy helped me climb up the steepest bit of all ready to be the king of the tree-mice!  I don’t think such a think exists, but its a nice thought anyway!  I love wild playtimes with Mummy!

DSC02609_800x600

This entry was published on June 23, 2016 at 10:52 pm. It’s filed under 30 Days Wild 2016, My Local Patch, Pet Mice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

