30 Days Wild – Day 9

#30DaysWild has got me thinking about how we all seem to rush through life without taking the time to really look at something.  I’ve been particularly inspired by this poem:

Leisure – W. H. Davies

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare? –

No time to stand beneath the boughs,
And stare as long as sheep and cows:

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass:

No time to see in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night:

No time to turn at Beauty’s glace
And watch her feet, how they can dance:

No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began?

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

And this got me thinking and into a poetic mood so I decided to use the first two lines as inspiration for a poem of my own:

The Joys Of Life

No time to look among the groves.
No time to watch the waiting crows.
We’re late for this, on time for that,
Dash fast, no time to tip my hat!

On our phones we walk and talk
And pay no heed to the hunting hawk.
This life does rush and pass us by,
Hurry, we’re late!  How time does fly!

But try to find some space for air.
Slow down, relax and say a prayer.
Life is given to be enjoyed,
Yet our lives, of fun, seem quite devoid.

Turn off your phone, find your love.
Give time to watch that tender dove.
Don’t rush your life, don’t let time fly,
Slow down, relax and watch the sky.

Make time to look among the groves.
Make time to watch the waiting crows.
What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare?

This led me very nicely onto today’s wild time.  Before I start, at the end of my adventure, Colin has a little adventure of his own to share with you today which is exciting.  He’s also discovered what his wheel is for and so seems to be spending loads of time enjoying it!

Stephanelli’s Adventure
Today I wanted to take the time to really appreciate something.  I wandered round the garden a bit and took a few nice photos.  Then I started listening and discovered that I had a wealth of different birds singing around me so I decided to grab the picnic blanket and sit and listen to the birds for a while.

After a while it occurred to me that I didn’t know all the birds that were singing.  Time to test out a handy new app on my phone!  The app is called BirdUp and while it has some limitations it is surprisingly accurate and helpfully gives a probability rating.  There are links to sample recordings so you can cross-reference and decided whether you believe it or not!  There were a few I definitely didn’t believe (e.g. a tawny owl!) but that was while I was playing with the sensitivity setting!

So my final list of birds that I definitely heard is as follows (in alphabetical order…just because):

  • Blackbird
  • Blackcap
  • Blue Tit
  • Chaffinch
  • Collared Dove
  • Dunnock
  • Green Woodpecker
  • Jackdaw
  • Jay
  • Robin
  • Song Thrush
  • Starling
  • Woodpigeon
  • Wren

I potentially heard the following birds but they didn’t stay around long enough for me to be sure:

  • Nuthatch
  • Mistle Thrush
  • Willow Tit

So I think you’ll agree I heard a fair number of birds!  I”m definitely planning on doing this again.  It was wonderful to just sit and listen and not mind that all I was doing was sitting and listening.  Its an important lesson for us all – we can’t rush through life and hope it doesn’t pass us by!  I sadly don’t have any photos of the birds so I thought I’d share a few from my wanderings around the garden:

Today has been lovely experience and one I’m definitely going to do again (one day I’ll get up for the dawn chorus…one day!).  I came in from the garden feeling more relaxed and ready to deal with driving into Cambridge at rush hour (oh the joys!).

Today’s Haiku:
Twittering, chirping
Peeps, cackles, trills and outbursts
Bird song fills the air

Colin’s Adventure
Colin spent a fair amount of this morning hiding on my lap and admiring the adventures that everyone has been getting up to.  He loved all the activities for World Oceans Day in particular.  Today’s adventure is sort of linked to the ocean, but I’ll let him tell you all about it.

Today Mummy took me out for some Wild Time and I decided that I wanted to play and be interested today.  It was very exciting.  Mummy gave me a piece of bone to investigate.  Mummy has had it a very long time so thinks that it should be free of any diseases that might hurt me – she froze it as well just to be sure!  It’s linked to the ocean because Mummy found it on a beach.  She can’t remember where, possibly Walton-on-the-Naze.  She says its part of the backbone of an animal.  I think whatever animal it was must have been pretty big compared to me!  It has a hole through which I couldn’t quite fit through sadly, but it was fun to climb on, although I moved too fast for Mummy to get many good pictures!

DSC02250_800x600

This entry was published on June 9, 2016 at 5:01 pm and is filed under 30 Days Wild 2016, My Local Patch. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

