30 Days Wild – Day 5

Day 5 of #30DaysWild – feels like I’ve been wild for much longer already!  Today was a gentle, relaxing day after my busy day dress shopping yesterday.  Colin won’t be featuring in today’s post, but he would like to send you all a little wave as he occassionally runs across my keyboard while I’m writing my blog posts!  Recently I’ve been reading through a book of lovely nature poetry and thought I would share a couple of my favourite lines with you from some of the summer poems:

A drop fell on the apple tree,
Another on the roof;
A half a dozen kissed the eaves,
And made the gables laugh.

The quote comes from “Summer Shower” by Emily Dickinson.  I just love the imagery in this verse, the raindrops gently kissing the eaves and the gables laughing with rain as if being tickled!

It is a formal and deserted garden
With many a flower bed and winding path.
A cupid stands and draws a bow at venture
Upon a marble bath.

All round his feet the eager ivy grows,
Stretches upon the stone, above the fround,
And in the ivy flowers the busy bee
Makes a melodious sound.

This one comes from “Out of Time” by Stevie Smith.  What I love in this quote is how you can picture the garden as if from a beautiful house with a large estate, and this is the formal part and once well manicured, but instead nature is being allowed to return and the bees are come to feed and make the most of it.  I think they are wonderful poems and well worth a read if you get the chance.

Stephanelli’s Adventure

Today I had a gentle day and after a slow morning featuring a nice lay-in and a wonderful brunch we went across for a housewarming being held by two of our dear friends.  They have a lovely little house which is just perfect for them and a lovely garden which we spent the afternoon relaxing in.  I spent a while playing with their little water feature (much to the amusement of others) but spotted a number of beautiful and fairly large butterflies on the lilac tree.  The butterflies it turns out are painted ladies and were much larger than I expected.  They were also surprisingly unafraid of me, unless I’ve just got too good at butterfly stalking!  I snapped a few pictures on my phone which turned out much better than I was expecting!  The butterflies are going to be the theme for today’s haiku!

IMG_20160605_172838_800x600IMG_20160605_172724_600x800

From these photos I sometimes wonder why I bother with an expensive camera, then I looked at the other photos and remembered that I can’t use it reliably!  However, I love watching butterflies and I find the sheer number we have in the UK so amazing.  Everytime I deliberately go out to find butterflies I often find a first-for-me species.  I think they are beautiful yet so delicate and often so little!  My only problem with butterflies is how hard they are to photograph!  It was a lovely afternoon in the sunshine so a thank you to the lucky new homeowners for inviting us over and giving us tea and snacks!

Today’s Haiku:
Softly, kiss the blooms
Flutter free ‘mid the lilac
Perfection, always

This entry was published on June 5, 2016 at 10:01 pm. It’s filed under 30 Days Wild 2016 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

