30 Days Wild – Day 2

I didn’t wake up with any poetic thoughts in my head this morning sadly.  Instead I woke up and sat in bed continuing to read my latest charity shop find – the AA Book of the British Countryside.  Its a fascinating read actually.  It starts off with a section about how the British Isles came to be as we know them and then launches straight into an encyclopaedia of many things about the British countryside!  I’ve so far read through the ‘A’ section and have just started on ‘B’.  A couple of interesting facts I’ve learnt from it so far:

  • Adder’s have hollow fangs connected to a venom gland which fills it up with venom.  When the adder bites the venom is injected through the fang into the victim.  When adders fight over territories they will rear up and try to push the other snake to the ground, they don’t bite at all.
  • Squirrels have to learn how to crack a nut efficiently and takes a few attempts!
  • Ash wood burns well even when still green (although this is definitely not a recommended thing to do).

Colin won’t be joining in with an adventure today sadly, but hopefully I’ll be able to encourage him out for a wild playtime tomorrow!

Stephanelli’s Adventure

Today I decided that I needed a colourful day.  I am a lover of colours and love they mix and can be combined in interesting to ways to create a new colour or to complement each other.  I took a walk along one of my favourite routes in my local patch – the road from Sutton in the Isle down to Sutton Gault and onto the Ouse Washes embankments.  I also spent some time finding some colours in my garden as well.  I’ll warn you now that this is a very photo heavy post!  (Well, they say a picture paints 1,000 words!)  Oh and don’t forget to read to the very end for today’s haiku too!

I’m intending on going through the colours in a roughly rainbow order so we’re going to start with reds.  There seemed to only be a small variety of different reds at this time of year and they all seem quite dark.  In the top left is a lovely red bark, top right is a scarlet tipped leaf, bottom left is a loganberry nearly ripe(!) and bottom right is a dark velvety red nasturtium.

Onto the oranges next!  Again not too much variety in the oranges, but beautiful nevertheless.  Top left is a lovely orange bark, top right a crane fly (my least favourite insect…), bottom left a little robin and bottom right a sadly broken but beautifully coloured snail-shell!

The bright sunny yellows come next!  There were loads and loads of buttercups out today and yellows were a bit more forthcoming (but mostly in my garden)!  Top left is some buttercups, top right a fallen leaf, bottom left a nasturtium not quite out in flower, bottom middle a primula and bottom right an antirrhinum (a.k.a. a snapdragon)!

After yellow comes green.  There were so many greens on offer so I’ve tried to just give a small selection!
Top row: left is collection of green plants, middle has some bright yellow-green leaves, right shows differences in green between hedge and nettle.
Top middle row: left has some dark and light greens, the middle I know  is a yellow buttercup, but look at that cute green bit in the centre, right is some green grass.
Bottom middle row: in the left I love the lighter green edging on these leaves, middle is a pale leaf, in the right I like the line of lighter green on each leaf that goes with the shape of the leaf!
Bottom row: left is dark ivy with beautiful lines, middle has some algae, right is a pale green flower (possibly a hellebore?)

After the mass of green, we have only two blue photos – left some forget-me-nots and right, a borage flower.

Onto the purples next, one of my favourite colours and fairly abundant although you have to look hard sometimes to find it!  Top left and right are some purple tipped grasses, bottom left is a  nettle, bottom middle a little ground-ivy and bottom right some purple flowers (I forget what they are).

Another of my favourite colours, the pinks!
Top row – left some fallen blossom petals and right a lovely cloverMiddle row – left pink garden flower and right a pink borage (I thought they were just blue!)
Bottom row – two antirrhinums in different shades of pink

Next up is going to be whites, creams and greys.  Top left is some beautiful cream buds, top right is what they will hopefully flower into, bottom left is an interesting bud or fruit but I don’t know what from (or what colour you’d actually call it!), bottom middle is a nice feather and bottom right is the grey water of the New Bedford River (complete with white horses because it was so windy)!

The final single colours are the browns and blacks.  An art teacher once told me that there is no true black in nature.  But it begs the question, if its not true black, at what point is the colour so dark that we can call it black?  Any thoughts?
Anyway, the photos!
Top row – left is some nice brown bark (puts me in mind to do a texture challenge…) and right some very dark brown cones
Middle row – left is a nice patch of oozy mud and right is a nice brown surrounding the base of some ripening fruits on a Cuckoo Pint (aka Lords and Ladies)
Bottom row – left shows varying browns in some tree rings and right is a big, black slug!

My final selection of photos for you shows the beautiful effects you can get when colours complement each other.
Top row – left shows a bud that has beautiful yellows and pinky oranges, right shows a beautiful effect of dark red and green on some leaves
Middle row – left shows a snail on a tree with a colourful shell and right shows a brightly coloured flower from my garden
Bottom row – left shows an ox-eye daisy and right shows a lovely two-colour nasturtium!

I once again apologise for the long post with so many photos, but I think you can see that I had a lovely walk and found a stunning array of different colours!  I never realised quite how vibrant and colourful nature can be and I really must look out for more natural colours to take inspiration for my crafting projects!

Today’s haiku:
Hues vibrant, hues pale
Ever-changing and diverse
Colouring the earth

This entry was published on June 2, 2016 at 2:37 pm. It’s filed under 30 Days Wild 2016, My Local Patch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “30 Days Wild – Day 2

  1. julietwilson on said:

    lovely colourful post! Such a wonderful selection of flowers too

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

