Ouse Washes near Sutton Gault

This blog post is rather late (a busy weekend…other photos got put up first etc…) but it’s here now!  Last Friday I took a walk down to the Ouse Washes near Sutton Gault.  Nature wasn’t being very friendly to me…so I’ve got some interesting stories to tell you!

Before my walk even started I was greeted by a pair of beautiful orange-tip butterflies in the garden.  I love orange-tips – the brightness of the orange on the male makes me feel all summery!

DSC01320_800x600

From the village of Sutton, you stroll down a small lane down towards Sutton Gault.  It’s a beautiful lane, and at this time of year is full of flowers, some growing in all sorts of interesting places!

There were also a number of birds in the hedgerows (these are tricky to photograph), but a number of birds very kindly modelled in other locations:

Once I reached the washes, as ever, I had to stand and admire the flatness (and the lack of water in the fields since I’d last been along this way!)

I then intended on going for a walk along the highest banks.  At this point nature decided to be unfriendly to me.  The first way I tried to go I got scared back by a horse with her foal (the foal = very cute; the mother? not so much…)

It was at this point I also spotted this beautiful kestrel in the nearby trees:

DSC01346_800x600

So I headed back through the gate, crossed the road and tried the other side.  This side there were cows.  However,for now they were grazing happily a significant distance away when I went through the gate.  I walked forward a little and the cows all suddenly started moving very purposely towards me.  I snapped a few photos and initially stood my ground, but the cows kept coming and I decided that I’d rather be the safe side of the gate to these cows and their calves…not before one particularly noisy and angry-looking mother forcibly encouraged me down the side of bank to continue my journey away from them.

So left with very little choice I headed across the river and down along the path in the fields which often gets covered in water in the winter (fortunately not flooded over today).  I heard plenty of birds, saw plenty of birds, but sadly failed to get any more exciting pictures than this one of some buttercups.  Which is actually a lovely picture in my opinion!

DSC01351_800x600

Before I go, I’ll leave you with a list of birds logged on this walk (using a new app I’ve found called eBird – recommend trying it!)

Bird List: Mute Swan, Shelduck, Mallard, Shoveller, Pheasant, Oystercatcher, Lapwing, Black-headed Gull, Common Tern, Pigeon, Collared-Dove, Green Woodpecker, Kestrel, Jackdaw, Crow, Swallow, Blue Tit,  Great Tit, Wren, Reed-Warbler, Robin, Nightingale (yay!), Blackbird, Songthrush, Goldfinch)

This entry was published on May 12, 2016 at 10:00 am. It’s filed under My Local Patch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

