Birds At Godmanchester

This morning I was due to be helping out on the Godmanchester Nature Reserve doing some more work on the willow fence with Spring Common school.  Sadly it rained, but due to where I live I’d already left by the time this had been decided so I went for a damp birding session instead.  It was well worth the effort – so many birds out and about today!

I’m just going to leave you with a load of pictures today, but a couple of things before I go, have you remembered that 30 Days Wild is happening again in June?  My pack arrived this morning while I was out, and I’m super-excited for it too!  Its a wonderful campaign and is the whole reason my blog is a blog and has all you lovely readers!

The other exciting thing is that Stephanelli’s Wild Adventures celebrates its first birthday today as well – how exciting!  So going out birding really was a great excursion because its given me something to write on my blog!  I also have two more posts being drafted today that will go out tomorrow and friday, one about my amazing visit to the beautiful Chettisham Meadow and the other about my less amazing, but nevertheless interesting visit to the ouses washes near where I live – so keep an eye out for them!

Finally, I have this great new app on my phone (no, I’m not paid to say that) called eBird which lets me keep a checklist of all the birds I’ve seen during the day so I can leave you with a long list of birds I saw or heard, and after that, some photos – enjoy them, because I certainly enjoyed taking them!

Bird list:  Greylag Geese, Canada Geese, Mute Swan, Wigeon (x 1 male), Mallard, Tufted Duck (x 1 male), Great Crested Grebe, Cormarant, Bittern (!!!!!! heard only), Grey Heron, Moorhen, Coot, Oystercatcher, Blackheaded Gull, Lesser Black-backed Gull, Common Tern, Pigeon, Cuckoo (first of the year!!  heard only), Swift, Kestrel, Jay, Magpie, Crow, Great Tit, Long-tailed Tit, Wren, Chiffchaff, Whitethroat, Robin, Nightingale (definitely heard, probably glimpsed), Blackbird, Dunnock and Linnet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was published on May 11, 2016 at 2:21 pm. It’s filed under Godmanchester Nature Reserve, Nature Reserves and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Birds At Godmanchester

  1. ebird app is a great app

    Like

  2. julietwilson on said:

    that’s a great list of birds! I’ll be doing 30 Days Wild as well!

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

