Two Visits To Godmanchester

This is going to be a fairly long, photo-heavy post.  I haven’t managed to get round to posting for a while because there always seems to be something else that needs doing more urgently!  I’m just thought I should tell you about my latest visits to Godmanchester Nature Reserve – it is still one of my favourite nature reserves around Cambridgeshire!

Saturday 13th February 2016

Today’s outing was arranged a while ago when we had no clue what the weather would do or how muddy it was going to be!  I’d promised Lucy over at Orts and Gribbles a muddy walk and Godmanchester didn’t fail me!  It was muddy, it was windy, cold and raining slightly…but this didn’t stop us – we decided to make the best of it!  In all, five of us went on this walk and we had a lovely time.  I saw some teal for the first time, and other highlights were wigeon, cormorants, a cute robin, a couple of oystercatchers, the briefest glimpse of a kingfisher and to top it off, Spring was in the air with blossoms and daffodil buds!  Here’s a collection of photos from this walk, as ever you can click on the photos to view them larger.

I’m sure my fellow walkers will agree that we had a great day!

Wednesday 24th February 2016

Today saw me down at the reserve for 10am to help Spring Common Academy out with their work on the reserve.  Today we had the fun task of cutting down some brambles.  This is the first time I’ve gone along to help with the group but I had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed myself!  While cutting the brambles, the group found this wonderful skeleton which another volunteer identified as most likely being that of a swan.  It was surprisingly big – and who knows how long its been hidden in those brambles!

After this, I decided that I wanted to wander around the reserve some more, so I grabbed my lunch and had a picnic near Island Lake, close to Coronation Corner.  The weather could not have been more different to last time I came!  It was still cold, but sunny which makes everything feel better!  The birds were singing, there were robins everywhere – possibly mating season has begun! – a number of blackbirds, a few great tits, a great crested grebe, geese (Canada and Greylag) and even a buzzard!  Nature seemed to putting on a show for me today to remind me how beautiful it can be!  Its still quite muddy, but there’s been a lot of work on the reserve recently so they’re gradually covering the main path in with gravel so bits of it our less muddy.  Here are some photos from today’s walk, (again click to view them bigger) – I’m looking forward to going back to help out next week!

This entry was published on February 24, 2016 at 6:23 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

