Exploring Sutton-in-the-Isle

Today, I decided to escape the sound of road works outside our house and have an explore of the village – mostly so that I could find a nice nature walk!

My walk took me along the high street and past the church and down onto Station Road.  There is no longer a station here but it was formally a stop on the line that used to run between Ely and St. Ives (Cambridgeshire).  It was originally opened in 1865, then resited in 1878 to be part of the extension that went to St. Ives.  It was closed to passengers in 1931 and finally closed completely in 1964.  Sadly I didn’t find where the station used to be, but that can be for a slightly less windy day!

Continuing down Station Rd, on a sharp corner, I found Stanker’s Pond.  The information sign nearby suggested that it was named because it stank, but that’s just speculation!  More interestingly, it was used to stand cart wheels in so that they expanded to fit the iron rims.  I’ve tried and failed to find any more information on it today – but I intend to have more of an explore of this little pond and see what creatures I can find on/in/near it as the weather warms up to Spring!

DSC00493_800x600

Stankers Pond

I followed station road down to the little business park and then followed the public footpaths along the south edge of the village until it eventually reached The Row.  I’m looking forward to following the nature along this area as the year goes on.  Here is a slideshow of the photos I took along this part of my walk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was published on February 8, 2016 at 2:10 pm. It’s filed under My Local Patch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

