Teachings From Nature – Those Overcast Days

I’m always learning things from nature.  I thought I should start writing about some of the biggest lessons that nature as given me.  I’m one of the many people nowadays who has struggles with depression and anxiety, but thanks to the Wildlife Trusts’ 30 Days Wild Campaign I’ve become more in tune with nature and its been a great source of help to me in fighting against these.  I wanted to share the lessons and inspirations that I’ve gained from spending time with nature, particularly those that have helped me, and I hope that maybe they’ll help you too.

Not every day is full of bright sunshine, blue skies and warmth.  Sometimes, there are rainy days, cloudy days, overcast days and downright miserable days.  But these days are needed as much as the bright sunny days are.  Sure, they might not be as enjoyable, but they are just as necessary.

Plants need the rainy days to grow, animals need them to replenish water sources, we need them to get a sense of perspective.  Overcast days actually make for good photography conditions because the clouds diffuse the light and reduce the number of high contrast shadows you have to deal with.  They’re also refreshing and cooler, particular after a hot spell (and by using the word hot, I’m using the British person’s definition – but it all depends on your perspective).

I’ll admit, on overcast and rainy days I do feel sad.  I miss the sunshine, the bright blue of the sky and the warmth on my skin.  When I wake up and the sun isn’t streaming around the curtains, I do feel a little bit sad.  This is all the more notable for me in Autumn and Winter – with the dark mornings creeping ever closer at this time of year.

On the overcast days, its important to be grateful for what they bring.  To make the most of them.  Maybe you can go for a longer walk than normal because you’re not being boiled by the sun, maybe you can take the opportunity to search out a good cloudy photograph.  Maybe, if its raining, you can discover that dancing in the rain and splashing in puddles shouldn’t just be left to the children, or you can discover the magic of listening to the rain as it falls into a lake.  Just maybe you’ll see a rainbow, and discover the pot of gold (but that would be cheating, right? – because clearly the sun came out to brighten the day, and that’s not the sort of day we’re talking about!).  Importantly, maybe you’ll discover that you’ve got a secret sunshine that shines just for you, not one in the sky, but maybe a loved one, a pet, a particular place – it could be anything.  I’ve got a secret sunshine in the form of a loving and caring partner.

On those overcast days, its important to remember to enjoy the good things, however small they may be and acknowledge the bad/less good things because they provide you sense of perspective – which I’m constantly being told is important to have.

How do you combat the overcast days?  What’s your secret sunshine?

This entry was published on October 16, 2015 at 11:53 am. It’s filed under Teachings From Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

