Visiting Godmanchester Nature Reserve

Today I headed across to the BCN Wildlife Trust’s Godmanchester Nature Reserve.  This is the third time I’ve been and this time I saw loads of different creatures as well as all the usual birds I’m used to seeing!  You can here about my first visit that was my final activity for 30 Days Wild here!

Butterflies

What was most common as I walked around the reserve today was the numbers of butterflies out and about.  There were loads and of plenty of different species too.  (Note: I’ve done my best at species identification, but if you’ve think I’ve got wrong – please either leave a comment on this post or contact me via the form on the about page – thanks 🙂 )

Creepy Crawlies

As well as butterflies there were loads of little bugs, insects and little creepy crawlies out and about today.  I’ll admit – I’m not a big fan of creepy crawlies – but some of them are beautiful – particularly caterpillars!

Damselflies and Dragonflies

There were also plenty of dragonflies and damselflies out and about today, including the Scarce Chaser which can only be found in 6 main localities in the south of England!

Birds

Godmanchester is a haven for many birds.  There are mallards, greylag geese, swans, coots, moorhens, kingfishers, little egrets, herons, songthrushes, wrens and many, many more!  These are but a few of my favourites that I saw today:

Wildlife Find Of The Day

I have one final creature to show you a photograph of, and I was so delighted to see it!  I’d spent a little while walking around and having a look to see if I could see anything on the reptile tiles.  Needless to say, I was quite disappointed when I didn’t find any reptiles.  However, I took a little turning into a wooded area beside the lake so that I could get a look at what birds were on the islands in the middle of the lake  and there right across the path – was this grass snake!  It had made me jump actually seeing it – I stared at it, it stared at me, I got some photographs and the snake headed back into the undergrowth from whence it had come.  It was a wonderful but slightly terrifying experience.  I have to admit to not knowing my snakes, so a little thought in the back of mind kept going “it might be an adder – they’re venomous!”  Fortunately for me it a) wasn’t an adder, b) wasn’t venomous, c) didn’t seem to have any interest in attacking me!  It was much bigger than I was expecting a snake to be – over a metre at least, unfortunately part of it was hidden in the undergrowth so I can’t say anymore than that!  Anyway – without further ramblings – a grass snake!

Final Comments

I can’t begin to describe how much I’m already coming to love this reserve – I’d thoroughly recommend a visit – there’s so much wildlife to see and different habitats.  There are activities to get you closer to nature including the reptile tiles, a bug hotel to rummage in, some habitat mats to look under (all I found today was earth worms unfortunately), and some craft materials to use to make a picture or some writing to hang up on the wildlife line.  If you’ve not been before then you can find out more about it on their website – Godmanchester Nature Reserve.

This entry was published on July 17, 2015 at 3:07 pm. It’s filed under Godmanchester Nature Reserve and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Visiting Godmanchester Nature Reserve

  1. Wonderful! It is wonderful reading about your day out at our reserve. Thank you for sharing it with the world (The Wildlife Trust BCN)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Amy! I love heading over there, I always see something different – I’ve just come back from a visit actually – my exciting creature of day today is a little egret (well I think it is – I haven’t looked it up yet – it looks similar to a grey heron but is smaller and white)

      Like

  2. Nick Collins on said:

    The little beetles with a liking for yellow are probably Pollen Beetles (Meligethes aeneus)…
    http://www.naturespot.org.uk/species/pollen-beetle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

