30 Days Wild, Day 15 – Identifying Fauna

Stats – Day 15

Activity: Walking round Fen Drayton Lakes and River Great Ouze to find some species to identify
Wild Location: Fen Drayton RSPB Reserve
Time of Day: Afternoon
Length of Activity: 5 hours
Weather: Sunny with some patchy cloud, very warm and pleasant

Identifying Fauna

Today I went for a lovely walk around Fen Drayton RSPB reserve with the intention of finding some species of a variety of fauna to come home and identify.  I had a very successful day.  I’ve not managed to get photos of everything but I’ve also listed everything that I saw.

Mammals

I didn’t see many mammals on my walk today, however, I did see the following.

  • Female roe deer – Capreolus capreolus
  • European (or common) rabbits – Oryctolagus cuniculus15-13

Birds

I didn’t take many photos of the birds I saw as many of them are ones I see on a regular basis and so have already identified them.

  • Lapwing – Vanellus vanellus15-14
  • Oystercatcher – Haematopus ostralegus15-4
  • Coot – Fulica atra
  • Moorhen – Gallinula chloropus
  • Mallard – Anas platyrhynchos
  • Black-headed gulls – Larus ribibundus
  • Cormorant – Phalacrocotax carbo15-15
  • Cuckoo – Cuculus canorus
  • Tufted duck – Aythya fuligula
  • Chaffinch – Fringilla coelebs
  • Young Reed Bunting – Emberiza schoeniclus15-12
  • Green Woodpecker – Picus viridis
  • Mute Swan – Cygnus olor
  • Magpie – Pica pica
  • Crow – Corvus corone
  • Jay – Garrulus glandarius
  • Greylag goose – Anser anser15-11

Dragonflies and Damselflies

I saw a wide variety of these but I wasn’t able to identify most of them because I didn’t see them for long enough or take a photo.  However, here are two that I did manage!

  • Female common blue damselfly – Enallagma cyathigerum15-3
  • Common club-tailed dragonfly – Gomphus vulgatissimus15-6

Insects and Butterflies

Again, I saw a wide variety of these, so I’ve not identified all of them.  Here some that were particularly splendid today!

  • Dark bush-cricket – Pholidoptera griseoaptera15-1
  • Harlequin ladybird larva – Harmonia axyridis15-8
  • Tree bumblebee – Bombus hypnorum15-10
  • Tortoiseshell – Aglais urticae15-5
  • Red Admiral – Vanessa atalanta15-7

Peacock – Aglais io15-9

How It Made Me Feel

I love looking for new things to photograph.  I was particularly annoyed with myself for missing the opportunity to photograph a cuckoo, a new species for me, I just wasn’t ready for it to fly off!  Never-the-less I’m pleased to have seen one now (much bigger than I expected) and have had a lovely day looking for wildlife!

This entry was published on June 16, 2015 at 3:17 pm. It’s filed under 30 Days Wild 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “30 Days Wild, Day 15 – Identifying Fauna

  1. marionleeper on said:

    I love Fen Drayton lakes! Even better in the depths of winter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

