30 Days Wild, Day 9 – Geocaching

Stats – Day 9

Activity: Searching for hidden geocaches in the Somersham area
Wild Location: Somersham
Time of Day: Afternoon
Length of Activity: 1.5 hours
Weather: Cool, cloudy with light showers, breezy

Geocaching

Today I went geocaching.  For those who don’t know, its basically a treasure hunt, and the clues are left by some kind people who look after the geocaches.  I’ve not being geocaching before, but I did my research, found the GPS location of 3 caches close to home and went hunting!

The first cache took me to the beautiful church.  Hidden within the churchyard was a delightful cache.  I’d not found a geocache before, and this one was very helpfully labelled as “geocache” for me!  It was nice and fairly easy to find.

The second cache took me along one of normal routes, but then it took me down a path I’ve not really walked before!  I think this will be become one of the pleasures of geocaching, going places you’ve not found before!  In the photo below you can see the two footpath fences on either side, straight ahead is the route I don’t normally go!

This one was a bit better hidden and my phone decided it didn’t like being a GPS locator so it took me longer to find!

The final cache I found took me close to the bridge.  This one was harder to find and required stealth tactics to find it without looking horribly suspicious!  I’ve concluded this is all part of the fun of geocaching when you have to be stealthy!

Along the way I found some the true treasures of geocaching – new places and sights I might otherwise have missed:

How It Made Me Feel

Quite simply, it made me feel like I was an 8 year old again, hunting for buried treasure.  It’s like a global, Easter egg hunt that’s not limited to a specific weekend each year.  I loved it and I’m definitely going out hunting for geocaches again!

This entry was published on June 9, 2015 at 5:00 pm. It’s filed under 30 Days Wild 2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “30 Days Wild, Day 9 – Geocaching

  1. Sounds like you had fun! I’ve never been geocaching… it just doesn’t appeal to me – I can’t make myself interested in it no matter how much fun others have doing it!

    Like

  2. We need to do a spot of wild geocashing soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

